• Home
  • General
  • AACTE Announces 2024 National Awardees for Achievements in Educator Preparation

AACTE Announces 2024 National Awardees for Achievements in Educator Preparation


AACTE is pleased to announce the 2024 recipients of its annual awards for innovative research, best practices, and exemplary leadership in educator preparation. Through a rigorous selection process carried out by the AACTE Standing Committees, the AACTE Awards Program honors member institutions and individuals who have made bold, extraordinary, and innovative contributions to the field of educator preparation. 

“The selection of this year’s winners represents the impact that research, practice, and innovation make in advancing and strengthening the educator workforce,” said Lynn M. Gangone, AACTE president and CEO. “AACTE congratulates all winners on their distinguished achievements, which show commitment to the field of educator preparation across all levels.” 

The distinguished honorees listed below will be formally recognized during the 2024 AACTE Annual Meeting Feb. 16-18, 2024, at the Gaylord Rockies Resort & Convention Center in Aurora/Denver, Colo. 

  • Outstanding Journal of Teacher Education Article Award Winner:
    “Developing an Equity-Centered Practice: Teacher Study Groups in the Preservice Context,” by authors Allison Firestone, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, Rebecca Cruz, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, Darcie Massey, University of California, Berkeley — Learn more. 
  • James D. Anderson Outstanding Dissertation Award Winner: 
    Mariah Deans Harmon, Ed.D., Assistant Professor, College of Education at Pennsylvania State University — Learn more. 

  • Gloria J. Ladson-Billings Outstanding Book Award Winner: 
    David Stroupe, Ph.D., author, “Growing and Sustaining Student-Centered Science Classrooms” — Learn more. 

  • Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education Winner: Kimberly A. White-Smith, Ed.D., Dean and Professor, School of Leadership and Education Sciences, University of San Diego, Vice President of the California Council on Teacher Education — Learn more. 

  • Best Practice Award for Exemplary Holmes Program: 
    University of Central Florida — Learn more. 

  • Best Practice Award in Support of Global and International Perspectives Winner: 
    Howard University (HU) School of Education’s Department of Curriculum and Instruction — Learn more. 

  • 2024 Increasing Educator Diversity: Promising Practice Award
    University of Northern Colorado’s Center for Urban Education — Learn more. 
  • Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology Winner: 
    The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley (UTRGV) — Learn more. 

  • Best Practice Award in Support of Multicultural Education and Diversity Winner: 
    New York University Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development’s Teacher Residency — Learn more. 

  • David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teacher Education Winner: 
    Jane West, Ph.D., former AACTE Senior Vice President — Learn more. 

  • Margaret B. Lindsey Award for Distinguished Research in Teacher Education Winner: 
    Sarah McCarthey, Ph.D., Professor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign — Learn more. 

Tags: ,