• Home
  • General
  • New Volunteer Leaders Prepare to Steer AACTE

New Volunteer Leaders Prepare to Steer AACTE

At the conclusion of the recent 2023 Annual Meeting, Monika Williams Shealey became the new chair of the AACTE Board of Directors. Shealey is the senior vice president, diversity, equity, and inclusion at Rowan University. She is joined on the AACTE Executive Committee by the following:

Michael Dantley, Immediate Past Chair (pictured)
Dean Emeritus, College of Education, Health and Society
Miami University of Ohio

Marquita Grenot-Scheyer, Chair-Elect
Professor Emeritus, College of Education
California State University, Long Beach

Marvin Lynn, Secretary
Dean, School of Education & Human Development
University of Colorado, Denver

Anne Tapp
Professor, College of Education
Saginaw Valley State University

Lynn M. Gangone
President and CEO, AACTE (ex-officio)

AACTE Welcomes New Board Members

In 2023, the AACTE Board of Directors will lead the organization as it commemorates its 75th anniversary and continues to respond to historic challenges confronting educator preparation. AACTE welcomes the talents, insights, and commitment of its new members who were elected to the Board of Directors, effective this month:

Loury Floyd
Dean, School of Education
University of North Carolina – Pembroke

Tambra Jackson
Dean, School of Education
Indiana University-Purdue University – Indianapolis

Yolanda Gallardo
Dean, School of Education
Gonzaga University

Christine Gorowara
Sr. Associate Director, Office of Accreditation and Certification
University of Delaware

AACTE Thanks Outgoing Volunteer Leaders

At a Board meeting in February, Chair Dantley and President and CEO Lynn M. Gangone thanked the following members who concluded their Board service:

Two outstanding leaders concluded their service on the Executive Committee at the Annual Meeting: Kimberly White-Smith, dean, School of Leadership and Education Sciences, University of San Diego and Robert Floden, dean, College of Education, Michigan State University, who served as the 2021-22 chair of the AACTE Board of Directors.

The following leaders concluded their terms on the Board of Directors at the Annual Meeting. AACTE thanks them for their dedication and service to the Association.

John Blackwell
Coordinator of Instructional Technology/Assessment
Virginia State University

John Henning
Professor Emeritus
Monmouth University

Jesse Perez Mendez
Dean, College of Education
Texas Tech University