AACTE Welcomes New Holmes Council Officers

Each year, participants of the Holmes Program elect peers to represent the needs of the Holmes community and to collaborate with AACTE to enhance programming and initiatives to benefit the Holmes student body. Established in 1991, the Holmes Program’s primary goal is to increase the diversity of tenure-track education faculty and leaders within higher education and the PK-12 school system. Holmes Scholars benefit from culturally relevant professional development and mentorship offered by AACTE and its member institutions. Holmes participants are immersed in an identify affirming community of over 200 peers and 800 alumni mentors. AACTE is excited to welcome the 2023-24 Holmes Council officers who will work alongside the association and its stakeholders to implement impactful programming for the Holmes community.

2023-24 Holmes Council Officers

  • President: Charles A. Barnes II, Rowan University
  • Vice President: Amelia Q. Rivera, North Carolina State University
  • Secretary: Jennifer Amador, Florida Atlantic University
  • Historian: Cassaundra Guzman, Syracuse University
  • Research Coordinator: Kimberly Lawson, Texas Woman’s University
  • Sergeant-at-Arms: Latifa Sebti, Rowan University
  • General Alternate I: Simonie Moore, University of Central Florida
  • General Alternate II: Ashley Grays, University of Central Florida
  • Social Media Coordinator: Kiana Njoku-Ibe, Texas Woman’s University
  • Master’s Representative: Evelyn Vidal, SUNY Oswego

To learn more about the Holmes Program, contact Weadé James, Ph.D., Vice President, Organizational Advancement at wjames@aacte.org.


Weade James

Vice President, Organizational Advancement