• Home
  • General
  • #AACTE23 Opening Session Features an Intergenerational Conversation with Renowned Scholars

#AACTE23 Opening Session Features an Intergenerational Conversation with Renowned Scholars

Nationally renowned scholars Gloria Ladson-Billings and James D. Anderson will share their remarkable personal journeys and discuss advances in educator preparation during the upcoming Annual Meeting opening session. Join AACTE and gain new insights that exemplify AACTE’s mission to revolutionize education for all learners during this fireside chat format.

This intergenerational conversation and knowledge transfer will include Lin Wu, the 2022 recipient of AACTE’s Outstanding Dissertation Award, and will be moderated by Leslie T. Fenwick, AACTE dean in residence.

AACTE’s 2023 Annual Meeting provides an opportunity to celebrate the organization’s 75-year history and chart a way forward. This year’s theme, Innovation through Inspiration: Remembering the Past to Revolutionize the Future, will be presented under these five strands and frames this historic convening. 

There is still time to reserve your spot at the largest professional gathering for the educator preparation field, being held in Indianapolis on February 24 – 26.

Not yet an AACTE member? Join now to receive the member rate when you register.


James D. Anderson is dean emeritus of the College of Education and the Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor Emeritus of Education at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. His scholarship focuses broadly on the history of U.S. education, with a subfield in the history of African American education.



Gloria Ladson-Billings is the former Kellner Family Distinguished Chair in Urban Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison where she was faculty in the Department of Curriculum & Instruction and faculty affiliate in the Departments of Educational Policy Studies, Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis, and Afro-American Studies. Her primary work focuses on culturally relevant pedagogy and race and inequality in education. 


吴林 Lin Wu is an assistant professor of teacher education at Western Oregon University. He is recipient of the 2022 AACTE Outstanding Dissertation Award. A former K-12 public school principal and teacher, he is a first-generation college student and immigrant from China. His research interests include race and empire, Asian diasporas, and multicultural teacher education.




Leslie T. Fenwick is AACTE dean in residence and dean emerita of the Howard University School of Education where she is a professor of education policy. A former Visiting Fellow and Visiting Scholar at Harvard University, she is author of the award-winning book, Jim Crow’s Pink Slip, contributing author to bestseller The Last Word: The Best Controversy and Commentary in American Education, and, author/contributing author of more than 60 other publications.