AACTE Introduces 2022-23 Holmes Council

2022-23 Holmes Council

AACTE would like to congratulate newly elected officers of the Holmes Scholars Council. The Council members are elected by the general Holmes student body. As a service entity, the Council coordinates events to promote scholar engagement, and shares ideas and scholar needs with AACTE to ensure that our Holmes programming is relevant and impactful.

The following scholars have been elected to serve a one-year term on the Holmes Council:

  • Secretary: Kimberly Lawson, Texas Woman’s University
  • Historian: Sa-Rawla Stoute, Rowan University
  • Research Coordinator: Eleanor Su-Keene, Florida Atlantic University
  • Sergeant-at-Arms: Charles Barnes, Rowan University
  • General Alternate I: Paul Massy, Florida Atlantic University
  • General Alternate II: Erika Moore, University of Central Florida
  • Social Media Coordinator: Danica Moise, University of Central Florida
  • Master’s Representative: Sara Salazar, Touro College

Holmes Scholars, Oumarou Abdoulaye Balarabe of Ohio University, and Leslie Ekpe of Texas Christian University will continue to continue their 2-year term in their role as president and vice president, respectively.

The AACTE Holmes Program provides mentorship, professional development, and support to doctoral and master’s students who self-identify as racially and ethnically diverse and are pursuing graduate degrees in education at AACTE member institutions. The program also supports early career post-doctoral scholars of color to advance their scholarly contributions.  The primary goal of the Holmes Program is to prepare more diverse leaders in the field of education, including diversity in the ranks of higher education tenure-track faculty and deans, K-12 leaders, and leaders driving state and federal policies. Since its inception in 1991, the Holmes Program has served more than 600 scholars from various institutions across the country.



Weade James

Vice President, Organizational Advancement