• Home
  • General
  • AACTE Announces Holmes Dissertation Funding Competition Awardees

AACTE Announces Holmes Dissertation Funding Competition Awardees

Holmes Dissertation Funding Winners

The AACTE Holmes Program Dissertation Funding Competition, sponsored by the Council for Academic Deans for Research Education Institutions (CADREI), Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities (TECSCU), Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education (AILACTE), National Association of Holmes Scholars Alumni (NAHSA), and AACTE was held during the recent Holmes Preconference at the 74th AACTE Annual Meeting in New Orleans. The Holmes Program provides mentorship, professional development, and a supportive peer network to racially and ethnically diverse students who are pursuing graduate degrees in education. The purpose of the dissertation competition is to support Holmes Program participants’ dissertation research expenses, which are essential to the completion of their doctoral studies. These expenses vary and may include travel for ethnographic field work, specialized software, research assistance, transcription costs, and other research-related expenditures.

The dissertation competition allows Holmes Scholars who have successfully passed their comprehensive examinations and successfully defended their dissertation prospectus to seek an award to cover dissertation expenses that are often self-funded if a scholar lacks grant funding to support their dissertation. At this year’s event, seven doctoral candidates were selected by AACTE from a pool of applicants to compete in the event. Each scholar’s presentation was evaluated by a panel of judges comprised of representatives from the sponsoring organizations. Scholars were rated on their (1) Presentation Style; (2) Writing and Oration; (3) Organization; (4) Professionalism; (5) Research Proposal: Innovation, Significance, Implications; (5) Research methodology; (6) Future lines of research; and (7) Overall Impression of Proposal. Four scholars were selected out of the seven to receive non-renewable awards. They included Lea Herbert, first-place awardee and Holmes Scholar at University of Central Florida who received $3,000; Eleanor Su-Keene, second-place winner and Holmes Scholar at Florida Atlantic University, received $1,500; Diana Gallardo and Azaria Cunningham, Holmes Scholars at Penn State University came in third and fourth, and received $750 and $500, respectively.

AACTE would like to congratulate the dissertation competition participants and winners. We would also like to extend our heartfelt appreciation to the dissertation competition sponsors, CADREI, TECSCU, NAHSA, and AILACTE.

Are you interested in learning more about the AACTE Holmes Program? Contact me at wjames@aacte.org.

Tags: , ,

Weade James

Vice President, Organizational Advancement