• Home
  • General
  • Nominate a Respected Colleague for an AACTE Award

Nominate a Respected Colleague for an AACTE Award

2022 AACTE AwardsThe annual AACTE call for award nominations has been extended through November 19. This means you still have time to nominate a colleague who has made a significant impact on educator preparation for the 2022 Margaret B. Lindsey Award, David G. Imig Award, or Edward C. Pomeroy Award. AACTE will honor the 2022 award recipients at the 74th Annual Meeting in New Orleans, March 4-6.

These professional achievement awards honor individuals who have made a meaningful contribution to the educator preparation profession with their research, policy leadership, or other service to the community. I hope you will take this opportunity to help AACTE recognize one of your peers for similar contributions to the field and profession.

  • The Margaret B. Lindsey Award for Distinguished Research in Teacher Education recognizes distinguished achievement in research, by an individual or team of individuals, over the last decade that has had a major impact on the field of educator preparation. Lindsey was a longtime professor at Teachers College, Columbia University, whose own writing and research had a tremendous and lasting impact on the field.

  • The David G. Imig Award for Distinguished Achievement in Teacher Education recognizes an individual for distinguished achievement in the field of policy and/or research related to policy in educator preparation. The career achievement acknowledged by this award must take place in the formulation, implementation, research, or analysis of educator preparation policy. The award is named for AACTE President/CEO Emeritus David G. Imig, who led the Association from 1980 to 2005.

  • The Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education recognizes outstanding contributions to educator preparation, either through distinguished service to the educator preparation community or through the development and promotion of outstanding practices in educator preparation at the collegiate, state, or national level. It is named for Edward C. Pomeroy, who was AACTE’s executive director from 1952 to 1980.

Self-nominations are welcome for the Lindsey but not the Imig or Pomeroy awards. All nominations must be made through the submission site no later than November 19. For more information, refer to the official Call for Entries, visit the submission site, or contact me at lminor@aacte.org.

Please help AACTE recognize outstanding professional achievements.