• Home
  • General
  • Annual AACTE Holmes Program Dissertation Funding Competition Awardees Announced

Annual AACTE Holmes Program Dissertation Funding Competition Awardees Announced

During AACTE’s 73rd Annual Meeting last week, Pricella Morris, Phllandra Smith, and Moe Green were announced as recipients of the 2021 Holmes Program Dissertation Funding Competition (DFC).

Over the last four years, AACTE has held an annual Holmes Program DFC to support Holmes scholars’ dissertation research related expenses. This annual event is sponsored by AACTE and its partners, including the Council of Academic Deans from Research Education Institutions (CADREI), Teacher Education Council of State Colleges and Universities (TECSCU), the Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges of Teacher Education (AILACTE), and the National the National Association of Holmes Scholars Association (NAHSA).

During the 2021 Annual Meeting, five outstanding doctoral candidates from Ohio University, University of Central Florida, Virginia Commonwealth University, Syracuse University, and the University of Nevada Las Vegas competed for monetary awards to support their dissertation research. These scholars were selected from a competitive pool of 13 applicants who submitted proposals for the competition. During the event, each scholar presented on their research study proposal to an audience of their peers and a panel of judges which included Dwayne Wright, visiting assistant professor and interim director of diversity equity and inclusion (DEI) Initiatives at George Washington University; Joya Hicks, associate professor at Kennesaw State University; and Noelle Arnold, senior associate dean and professor at the Ohio State University. The scholars were evaluated by the judges using the following criteria: (1) presentation style, (2) writing and oration, (3) organization, (4) professionalism, (5) research proposal: innovation, significance, implications, (6) research methodology, (7) future lines of research, and (8) overall impression of proposal.

Pricella Morris, doctoral candidate at the University of Nevada Las Vegas, was selected as the first-place winner to receive $3,000 to support her dissertation research study titled, “A quasi-experimental design: Impacts of shared-book-reading on young Black children’s identity formation.” Phillandra Smith of Syracuse University was selected as the second-place awardee to receive a non-renewable award of $1,250 to further her research study titled, “W(h)ite Out: An Analysis of the Presentations of Race & Ethnicity in U.S. Inclusive Education Textbooks.” Moe Greene, doctoral candidate at Virginia Commonwealth University, came in third-place and will receive $750 to implement his dissertation research study titled, “A Quantitative Analysis of the Relationship between Dispositions and Technological Knowledge of English Language Teachers.”

Holmes Program Dissertation Funding Winners

AACTE is incredibly proud of these scholars and their contributions to the field.  The Association is also grateful for the support of its sponsors and remain committed to enhancing the Holmes Program to continue to provide relevant mentorship, peer support, and professional development to graduate students of color. For more information about the Holmes Program,  please contact me at wjames@aacte.org.


Tags: , , ,

Weade James

Vice President, Organizational Advancement