• Home
  • General
  • Developers of Teacher Educator Technology Competencies Recognized with 2021 Pomeroy Award

Developers of Teacher Educator Technology Competencies Recognized with 2021 Pomeroy Award

AACTE is pleased to announce that Teresa Foulger, Kevin Graziano, Denise Schmidt-Crawford and David Slykhuis are the recipients of the 2021 AACTE Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education. The foursome are being recognized for the development of the Teacher Educator Technology Competencies (TETCs) and for their efforts to broadly disseminate the TETCs to teacher educators. The recipients are being presented with the award at today’s virtual AACTE 73rd Annual Meeting Awards Forum.

  • Teresa Foulger is an associate professor of educational technology and a program coordinator for Educational Studies in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College at Arizona State University.
  • Kevin Graziano is a professor of teacher education in the School of Education at Nevada State College.
  • Denise Schmidt-Crawford is a professor of educational technology and the director of the Center for Technology in Learning and Teaching (CTLT) in the School of Education at Iowa State University.
  • David Slykhuis is an assistant dean, College of Natural and Health Science, and the director of the MAST Institute at the University of Northern Colorado.

In 2017, The U.S. Department of Education Office of Educational Technology released the National Educational Technology Plan. The plan stated that the responsibility of preparing teacher candidates to successfully teach technology should be on educator preparation programs. Recognizing the need for a common set of technology proficiencies for educators who prepare teacher candidates, Foulger, Graziano, Schmidt-Crawford, and Slykhuis developed the TETCs. Their collaborative research was done in three phases: crowdsourcing literature, collecting expert opinion through a Delphi process, and gathering open public comment. This process resulted in 12 competencies with related criteria to define each competency. The goal of the TETCs is to create a framework for integrating technology across an entire teacher preparation program, so that teacher candidates see technology in context and integrated into their practicum experiences.

The Pomeroy Award recognizes contributions through either distinguished service to the teacher education community or the development and promotion of outstanding practices in teacher education at the collegiate, state, or national level. The award is given in honor of former AACTE Executive Director Edward C. Pomeroy.

As the leading voice in educator preparation, AACTE represents teacher educators who sustain and advance our profession through innovation, high standards, and leadership. “For 25 years, AACTE has honored the exceptional contributions of member institutions and individuals in our field,” said Lynn M. Gangone, AACTE’s president and CEO. “This esteemed team of researchers is well-deserving of the 2021 AACTE Pomeroy Award for their innovative contribution to advancing teacher education through the integration of technology. It is a pleasure to recognize them at the Awards Forum during our 73rd Annual Meeting.” 

AACTE issued a press release today announcing all of its 2021 award winners. For more information on AACTE’s awards program, visit the AACTE website.

Tags: , ,

Katrina Norfleet

Content Strategist, AACTE