AACTE Announces 2021 National Award Winners

2021 AACTE AwardsAACTE is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of its annual awards for innovative research, best practice, and exemplary leadership in educator preparation. The following member institutions and individuals will be honored at the virtual AACTE 73rd Annual Meeting Awards Forum today, 2:45-3:30 p.m.

  • Outstanding Journal of Teacher Education Article Award:
    Angela Calabrese Barton, University of Michigan; Edna Tan, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; and Daniel J. Birmingham, Colorado State University for “Re-thinking High Leverage Practices in Justice-Oriented Ways” – Learn more.
  • Outstanding Dissertation Award:
    Sarah Mia Obiwo, University of Memphis, for “Bringing Clarity to the Construct: A Content Analysis of Disposition for Urban Teaching and Learning”Learn more .
  • Outstanding Book Award:
    Bryan A. Brown, Stanford University, for Science in the City: Culturally Relevant STEM EducationLearn more.
  • Best Practice Award for the Innovative Use of Technology:
    University of South Florida, for Integration of Cybersecurity InstructionLearn more.
  • Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education:
    Teresa Foulger, Arizona State University; Kevin Graziano, Nevada State College; Denise Schmidt-Crawford, Iowa State University; and David Slykhuis, University of Northern Colorado, for Teacher Educator Technology CompetenciesLearn more.

“As the leading voice on educator preparation, AACTE represents educators throughout the United States who advance our profession through innovation, high standards, and leadership. For 25 years, AACTE has honored its member institutions, leaders, and individuals who make bold, exceptional and revolutionary contributions to our field,” said Lynn M. Gangone, AACTE president and CEO. “The 2021 AACTE Awards recipients have achieved distinction in educator preparation, and it is a privilege to recognize these recipients at the Awards Forum during our 73rd Annual Meeting.”   

The AACTE Awards Program recognizes excellence in schools, colleges, and departments of education. It includes a rigorous selection process carried out by the AACTE Standing Committees, which review all entries before determining the winners to be honored at the AACTE Annual Meeting. In identifying notable programs, practices, activities, writing, and research, these awards encourage all member institutions to strengthen the profession of teacher preparation through innovation, high standards, and leadership.


Jerrica Thurman

Director of Marketing & Communications, AACTE