• Home
  • General
  • AACTE Introduces Newly Elected Holmes Council Members

AACTE Introduces Newly Elected Holmes Council Members

2020 Holmes Council

AACTE is excited to announce and welcome the newly elected 2020-21 Holmes Council. The Council, selected by members of the AACTE Holmes Program, is comprised of current Holmes students and serves as the student voice of the program for AACTE. In my role as the AACTE director of development and research and an alumna of the Holmes Program, I look forward to collaborating with the new Holmes Council to implement initiatives that align with the organization’s strategic priorities.

The new officers of the Holmes Council are as follows:

• Secretary, Galaxina Wright – University of Central Florida
• Sergeant at Arms, Phillandra Smith – Syracuse University
• Historian, Nakisha Whittington – Penn State University
• Research Coordinator, Danna Demezier – Florida Atlantic University
• Social Media Coordinator, Ejana Bennett – Virginia Commonwealth University
• Master’s Representative, Shea Martin – Boston University
• General Alternate, Darryl Gordon – University of Central Florida
• General Alternate, Erica Watson-Brown – Rowan University

The current Holmes Council president and vice president will serve a second term during the 2020-21 year in accordance with the Holmes Program bylaws. Amber Haley of University of Central Florida will continue her term as president, and Azaria Cunningham of Pennsylvania State University will complete a second term as vice president.

The AACTE Holmes Program provides mentorship, professional development, and networking opportunities to post-doctoral, doctoral, and master’s students who self-identify as racially and ethnically diverse and are pursuing graduate degrees in education at an AACTE member institutions. Since its inception in 1991, more than 600 students have benefitted from the  Holmes Program and over 200 have obtained tenure-track and leadership positions within  academia. Many Holmes alumni have also achieved success outside of the academy in areas of education policy and K-12 educational leadership

To stay connected with the activities of the Holmes Program, follow us on Twitter at @HolmesScholars and Facebook at facebook.com/holmesscholars. You may also subscribe to the Scholars Report, the monthly e-newsletter from the Holmes Scholars Council.

For more information about how to get involved with the program, please contact me at wjames@aacte.org.


Tags: ,

Weade James

Vice President, Organizational Advancement