• Home
  • General
  • 20 AACTE Member Institutions Receive 2019 Teacher Quality Partnership Grants

20 AACTE Member Institutions Receive 2019 Teacher Quality Partnership Grants

The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) celebrates its 20 member institutions that received the 2019 Teacher Quality Partnership (TQP) grants from the U.S. Department of Education announced last week. With grants totaling more than $20 million, the TQP is the only federal initiative dedicated to strengthening educator preparation at institutions of higher education.

“AACTE celebrates all of the grant recipients, especially our 20 AACTE member institutions, because our members work year-round to advocate for continual funding for this critical initiative,” said Lynn M. Gangone, AACTE president and CEO. “With so much volatility on Capitol Hill, we view the consensus to support teacher preparation programs as a huge victory. TQP grants empower our members to extend and elevate their innovative and exemplary work.”

Eligibility for the 2019 TQP grants required applicants to have programs designed to prepare computer science teachers as well as the STEM fields overall, and to take place in a Qualified Opportunity Zone as designated by the Internal Revenue Service. AACTE member institutions that received the grants are

  • American Museum of Natural History (NY)
  • The CSU, Chico Research Foundation (CA)
  • California State University, Dominguez Hills Foundation (CA)
  • California State University Monterey Bay (CA)
  • Howard University (DC)
  • University of North Florida (FL)
  • Georgia State University Research Foundation, Inc. (GA)
  • The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois (IL)
  • Marian University (WI)
  • Purdue University (IN)
  • Bowie State University (MD)
  • Frostburg State University (MD)
  • Wayne State University (MI)
  • Montana State University (MT)
  • The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (NC)
  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte (NC)
  • Research Foundation of CUNY on behalf of Lehman College (NY)
  • Teachers College, Columbia University (NY)
  • Ohio University (OH)

The grant program addresses the national teacher shortage by preparing teachers in high needs fields to teach in high need schools. Grantees focus on either the undergraduate or graduate level, extending clinical practice to a full year or creating a residency program. This best practice is supported by two AACTE reports, Special Education Tenets of Clinical Practice and A Pivot Toward Clinical Practice, Its Lexicon, and Renewing the Profession of Teaching. Graduates receive at least two years of induction, which research shows supports teachers in remaining in the classroom after their novice years.

AACTE eagerly anticipates reporting the stories of impact its 20 member institutions will create as they embark on revolutionizing education in their local communities.

Tags: , , , , ,