• Home
  • General
  • AACTE Awards Program Recognizes Exemplary Books

AACTE Awards Program Recognizes Exemplary Books

Dr. Marcelle Haddix receiveing her award

Each year, the AACTE Awards program honors individual members for their significant contributions to the profession in nine categories, which includes the Outstanding Book Award. This award recognizes exemplary books that make a significant contribution to the knowledge base of educator preparation or of teaching and learning with implications for educator preparation. The AACTE Committee on Research and Dissemination oversees the award process and selects the winning book and its author/editor(s). This year’s awardee(s) will receive special recognition at AACTE’s 72nd Annual Meeting in Atlanta, GA, February 28 – March 1, 2020.

The video above features the 2018 AACTE Outstanding Book Award recipient, Marcelle Haddix, Dean’s Professor and chair of the Reading and Language Arts department in the Syracuse University School of Education, where she is an inaugural co-director of the Lender Center for Social Justice. Haddix was recognized for her book, Cultivating Racial and Linguistic Diversity in Literacy Teacher Education: Teachers Like Me. The book examines how English and literacy teacher education—a space dominated by White, English-monolingual, middle class perspectives—shapes the experiences of preservice teachers of color and their construction of a teacher identity.

““Dr. Marcelle Haddix has written a highly relevant and timely book on the perspectives and needs of racially and linguistically diverse prospective teachers in literacy and English education, and proposes ways to improve teacher preparation to better meet the needs of all prospective teachers,” said Joanna Masingila, dean of the Syracuse University School of Education. Learn more in this blog.

The entry due date for the 2020 Outstanding Book Award was May 16, 2019. Applications for the other 2020 AACTE awards are open on AACTE’s online submission site. Entries for the Outstanding Dissertation Award are due September 13 and all other awards are due October 9. Award recipients will be decided by the AACTE standing committees and recognized formally at the 2020 Annual Meeting. For more information, refer to the official Call for Entries, visit the submission site, or contact AACTE Director of Meetings and Events Linda Minor at lminor@aacte.org.

Tags: ,

Katrina Norfleet

Content Strategist, AACTE