• Home
  • General
  • AACTE Welcomes New Officers to the Holmes Scholars Council

AACTE Welcomes New Officers to the Holmes Scholars Council

Front Row (left to right): Amber Haley, Azaria Cunningham; Middle Row (left to right): Ke-La Harris, Sacha Cartagena; Reena Patel-Viswanath, Lydia Carsenale, Valentina Contesse, Timara Davis; Back Row (left to right): Adegoke Adetunji, Marquess Vela; Absent: Carla Roberson

AACTE welcomes the 2019-2020 Holmes Scholars Council, elected during the preconference events at the Annual Meeting last month. The council will work closely with AACTE liaison, Brandon Frost, to plan activities and communicate with Holmes participants throughout the year.

The new officers are as follows:

President: Amber Haley, University of Central Florida
Vice President: Azaria Cunningham, Penn State University
Secretary: Timara Davis, University of Central Florida
Historian: Reena Patel-Viswanath, University of South Carolina
Sergeant at Arms: Lydia Carsenale, University of South Carolina
Research Coordinator: Valentina Contesse, University of Florida
Social Media Coordinator: Carla Roberson, Ohio University
General Alternate: Sacha Cartagena, University of Central Florida
General Alternate: Adegoke Adetunji, Purdue University
Holmes Honors Representative: Ke-La Harris, Southeast Missouri State University
Holmes Cadet Representative: Marquess Vela, South Texas Independent School District

The AACTE Holmes Scholars Program supports students from historically underrepresented backgrounds pursuing careers in education at AACTE member institutions. The program exists to diversify the education workforce across the United States. To help correct the persistent mismatch between student and teacher demographics in both PK-12 and higher education settings, the Holmes Scholars Program embraces the urgency to prepare many more people from underrepresented communities to become and persist as education professionals, across all specialties and at all levels of schooling.

To stay connected with the activities of the Holmes Scholars, follow on Twitter at @HolmesScholars and Facebook at facebook.com/holmesscholars. You may also subscribe to the Scholars Report, the monthly e-newsletter from the Holmes Scholars Council.

For more information about getting involved with the program, contact Brandon Frost, AACTE, Director, Programs and Professional Learning, at bfrost@aacte.org.

Tags: ,

Jerrica Thurman

Director of Marketing & Communications, AACTE