Holmes Highlights From AACTE 70th Annual Meeting


The annual Holmes Program gathering at AACTE’s Annual Meeting was held in Baltimore, Maryland, from February 28 to March 2. To date, this was the largest assembly we’ve had from the program, with students from over 47 universities and institutions in attendance as well as faculty, coordinators, and program alumni. The theme for the conference was “Celebrating Our Professional Identity,” and the subtheme for our preconference event was “I Too Am Holmes.”

A wide variety of sessions was available for Holmes Cadets, Honors, Master’s, and Scholars. Students were able to share their research through poster sessions, roundtable discussions, and paper presentations. Breakout sessions covered topics such as Effective Strategies to Recruit and Retain Minority Preservice Teachers, Beginning the Doctoral Journey, Navigating Dissertation, and Navigating Untenured Faculty Positions, to name a few. Members also had the opportunity to network, collaborate, and share their experience of being part of this dynamic community called HOLMES.


Dissertation Funding Competition

This year’s Holmes Program preconference was also unique because Scholars were able to compete in a dissertation funding competition with a chance to win $5,000 from AACTE (see this article for more information). Four Scholars were selected as finalists from the applications submitted in December and January, and they each had 5 minutes to present their proposal to the Holmes community and a panel of judges in Baltimore. The finalists were Nevin J. Heard, University of Central Florida; Lillian (Sharon) Leathers, William Paterson University (NJ); Kayla C. Elliott, Florida Atlantic University; and Cherjanét D. Lenzy, University of Northern Colorado. Elliott was named the winner for her study, Pride, Power, and Prejudice: The Impact of Performance-Based Funding on Public Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Once she was announced as the winner, Elliott, exemplifying the true spirit of the Holmes Program, offered to share the funding with Heard. Congratulations to all the Scholars who made it to the final round, and best wishes in your continued dissertation work!

Cherjanét D. Lenzy, University of Northern Colorado
Lillian (Sharon) Leathers, William Paterson University
Nevin J. Heard, University of Central Florida
Kayla C. Elliott, Florida Atlantic University

Governance Updates

Meet the 2018-2019 Holmes Council: Front row (L-R): Carlos Richardson, Dana Dunwoody; back row: Benita Kluttz-Drye, Marquetta Strait, Temitope Adeoye, Priscilla Bell, Georgette Richardson, Monique Matute, Karla Yong, Jessica Ferguson, Alex Caston (not pictured: Tytianna Wells Smith)

During the business meeting in Baltimore, elections were held for the 2018-2019 Holmes Council. The following individuals will serve for the coming year:

The council works closely with the AACTE liaison, Tim Finklea, to plan activities and communicate with Holmes participants throughout the year.

Also at the Holmes Program business meeting, members voted on updates to the Council bylaws. These revisions included (a) changing the name of the Holmes Scholars Council to the Holmes Council; (b) adding language for the three new council positions (Holmes Master’s, Honors, and Cadet Representatives); and (c) updating the standing committee descriptions.

To keep up with the latest news about the AACTE Holmes Program, sign up for our monthly e-newsletter here or read the archives online here.

Tags: , , ,

Benita Kluttz-Drye

Rowan University