AACTE Award Recognizes Congressional Leaders

U.S. Representative Brett Guthrie (R-KY) and AACTE President/CEO Lynn M. Gangone celebrate Guthrie’s acceptance of the AACTE Congressional Leadership Award. The other recipient, U.S. Senator Benjamin E. Sasse (R-NE), was unable to attend the event but supported AACTE by securing the room for the Day on the Hill breakfast.

On June 7, AACTE honored U.S. Representative Brett Guthrie (R-KY) and U.S. Senator Benjamin E. Sasse (R-NE) for working with AACTE and its partners to rescind the U.S. Department of Education regulations on teacher preparation programs. The lawmakers received the 2017 AACTE Congressional Leadership Award, which is presented during AACTE’s Day on the Hill to recognize members of Congress who have played a strong leadership role in support of the profession.

Rep. Guthrie and Sen. Sasse introduced the resolution to rescind the regulations, which were officially rescinded March 27. Their energy and efforts in seeing the resolution into law now allow the profession to maintain its focus on innovating and strengthening preparation programs, rather than directing resources and time to complying with the onerous regulations.

“AACTE is pleased to recognize the important contributions of these two members of Congress with this award,” said AACTE President/CEO Lynn M. Gangone. “We look forward to continuing to work with the Congress as it embarks on the reauthorization of the Higher Education Act, to clarify the federal role in this vital aspect of our nation’s teacher workforce development.”

The awards were announced at a breakfast on Capitol Hill, after which AACTE Day on the Hill participants put their previous day’s training to work by walking the halls of Congress and making their voices heard on issues important to educator preparation. Day on the Hill, AACTE’s premier advocacy event, is the culminating piece of AACTE’s Washington Week, which also includes the State Leaders Institute and the Holmes Summer Policy Institute. Day on the Hill provides the opportunity for our members and partners to come together to engage on leadership and advocacy opportunities as one profession.

Tags: ,

Deborah Koolbeck

Senior Director of Government Relations, AACTE