Call for Entries: 2017 AACTE Outstanding Book Award

AACTE is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Outstanding Book Award. Nominations must be made through our online submission system by June 14.

The Outstanding Book Award recognizes books that make a significant contribution to the knowledge base of educator preparation or of teaching and learning with implications for educator preparation. Last year’s winner was Etta Hollins’ Rethinking Field Experiences in Preservice Teacher Preparation: Meeting New Challenges for Accountability (Routledge), and the 2015 winner was Nel Noddings’ Education and Democracy in the 21st Century (Teachers College Press); check our online honor roll for other great recommendations for your summer reading list!

Eligibility requirements for the 2017 award include a publication date within the past 2 years (July 2014–June 2016) and a letter of nomination from a faculty member at an AACTE member institution (who is not an author or editor of the volume). See the call for entries for other requirements.

The AACTE Committee on Research and Dissemination will read and discuss all of the nominations during the summer and early fall. Applicants will be notified of the committee’s decision in November, and the winner will be recognized during the 2017 Annual Meeting, to be held March 2-4 in Tampa, Florida.

The call for entries for AACTE’s other 2017 awards will be available later this spring. Meanwhile, contact me with any questions about the Writing and Research Awards or Christine Tambini with any general awards questions.

Tags: ,