• Home
  • AACTE at Work
  • Join the Growing Roster Diversifying the Profession in AACTE’s Holmes Program

Join the Growing Roster Diversifying the Profession in AACTE’s Holmes Program

The AACTE Holmes Program recently welcomed nine new participating institutions, joining dozens of other educator preparation programs across the country that are providing targeted support to historically underrepresented students in education.

The following institutions signed up this fall to participate in the program, signifying their commitment to diversifying the teacher workforce:

  • Boston University (MA)
  • Central Connecticut State University
  • Eastern Connecticut State University
  • Oral Roberts University (OK)
  • University of Findlay (OH)
  • University of Houston (TX)
  • University of Kentucky
  • William Paterson University (NJ)
  • Winona State University (MN)

Jacob Easley II, dean of the School of Education and Professional Studies (Graduate Division) at Eastern Connecticut State University, is president of the National Association of Holmes Scholars Alumni, an organization that extends the Holmes Program’s support network into former participants’ new careers. “Across the nation, many institutions of learning struggle with issues of access, equity, and positive outcomes for minority and underrepresented populations,” he said. Easley noted that the strength of the program is in its “network approach, whereby institutions can address these struggles according to their capacity with national support.”

The Holmes Program, active for doctoral students since 1991 and under the ownership of AACTE since 2010, provides a framework for participating institutions to offer students mentorship, peer support, and professional development opportunities. The program has proven to be so valuable to both participants and the profession at large that AACTE announced an expansion earlier this year, broadening the target population from doctoral students to high school, baccalaureate, and master’s students (beginning with a pilot program at William Paterson University).

“The expansion of the Holmes Program toward a pipeline approach for educator preparation from high school through doctoral study is like no other,” said Easley. “I am certain that the outcomes will have a powerful impact on practice, policy, and community.”

Participation in the Holmes Program is open to all AACTE member institutions; AACTE charges no additional fee to join. Sponsoring institutions are responsible for supporting their Holmes students according to the participation requirements detailed in the links below.

Learn more about the Holmes Program here, or contact Omar Davis at odavis@aacte.org for more information.

Tags: , ,

Hannah Maes

AACTE Marketing Coordinator Intern