• Home
  • General
  • Five More States to Receive Technical Assistance From CEEDAR Center

Five More States to Receive Technical Assistance From CEEDAR Center

Georgia, Ohio, Montana, New Hampshire, and Utah have been selected to receive technical assistance from the University of Florida College of Education’s Collaboration for Effective Educator Development, Accountability, and Reform (CEEDAR) Center. The center supports states in developing educators to prepare students with disabilities for colleges and careers.

The U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Special Education Programs has already committed $15 million to the center’s work, with an offer of another $10 million through 2017 if the outreach includes 20 states. To date, 10 states are participating; in addition to the five named this month, the list of “intensive states” includes California, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, and South Dakota.

Under the program, CEEDAR will support selected institutions and state leaders in strengthening their standards and processes for preparing, licensing, and evaluating teachers and school leaders to help students with disabilities achieve college and career standards. Participating states were selected through a national call for applications.

AACTE is a national partner of the CEEDAR Center along with the American Institutes for Research, the Council for Exceptional Children, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation, the Council of Chief State School Officers, and others.

For more information, visit http://ceedar.org/.

Tags: , , , , ,